Reviews

Review – TMNT #108 (IDW Publishing)

Overall
7.7/10
7.7/10
  • Writing - 7.6/10
    7.6/10
  • Art - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Overall - 7.7/10
    7.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

TMNT #108

Story Consulting: Kevin Eastman and Tom Waltz
Story: Sophie Campbell
Script: Ronda Pattison
Artist: Nelson Daniel
Colorist: Ronda Pattison
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: August 26, 2020

It is up to April O’Neil to save the Splinter Clan, but it has been a long time since she has been in the sewers. And what does the Slithery want with its prey?

 

Slimed in TMNT #108

When we last left off the Splinter Clan they were hot on the slimy trail of the Slithery, a giant mutated eel that was kidnapping young mutants in Mutant Town. Well, things did not go well, as the TMNT crew ended up in the clutches of the Slithery, trapped in its ooey, gooey slime. It is up to April O’Neil to save them. But she hasn’t been in the sewers in a long time; plus, what happens if the Slithery comes after her in TMNT #108?

TMNT #108 (IDW Publishing) cover B by Kevin Eastman
TMNT #108 (IDW Publishing) cover B by Kevin Eastman

Don’t forget, what is Baxter Stockman doing spying on Mutant Town? Him sending mousers to creep around town cannot be a good thing. Stockman is up to no good and it comes to light in this issue.

Writing

This story arc has been a solid one by Sophie Campbell. I think I noted this in my previous review, but this isn’t exactly a “blow your hair back, must read” type story. It is not as emotionally charged as we are used to from Campbell, but that is okay. This is a fun, just kind of adventure story. I think the series needed something like this. Things have been crazy for a long time in the TMNT world and I think this little story arc helps for a “reset” to the series.

For TMNT #108 itself, Campbell does a solid job. Obviously, she understands the Turtles and their different personalities well, and that comes out perfectly in this issue. I like how Jennika also doesn’t feel like the “fifth wheel” Turtle. It started to feel like that a bit, but Campbell has transitioned her into the team perfectly well now.

There are also some solid jokes from Campbell in TMNT #108. I actually laughed and smirked at a few sequences in this issue. The whole issue, in and of itself, has a nice, lighthearted vibe which, again, is what I think the series needed. I am not too crazy about the ending of the issue—it felt kind of random and a little rushed—but it was okay. I like the bigger implication of what happens with April and Baxter Stockman, plus I am glad April is getting more page time, as well.

Art

If you have read my reviews of this story arc then you know I am a little on the fence with Nelson Daniel‘s art, as well. Now, that is not saying in any way, shape, or form that the art is “bad”.  Nothing has really changed in that aspect from my previous reviews of this story arc. He does continue to draw incredibly cute young mutants. You can’t help but smile when you see those characters in TMNT #108.

He does great character design, as well.  I like the look and feel of all the Turtles and supporting characters. Again, he brings a bit of that Archie Comics feel to the series. But at the same time, it does feel a bit “plain jane”. I am not exactly sure what it is. But at times it seems to lack that excitement to it. The backgrounds and settings just seem to have no life to them that really brings everything in the story out.

Again, nothing bad about the art, it just feels like it is missing just a little something, for me. Maybe it is just my personal taste, but I would like to see just a little bit more detail in everything that Nelson Daniel delivers.

Conclusion

TMNT #108 continues the story of the Slithery and April O’Neil comes back to the sewers. Baxter Stockman is up to no good and the Splinter Clan is in trouble. Again, this story has a good “reset” quality to it. The story is not the most exciting or craziest thing, but it gets us back to basics and has its moments. I like that Baxter Stockman is becoming a big threat again, and it does build up intrigue as to what he is actually up to. While this won’t be the most talked-about story arc, I think, in the long term, it does a lot of good setting a base for the stories going forward and is a nice reestablishment of IDW’s ongoing TMNT series. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • 300x250

WOTN on Instagram

  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp

YouTube

%d bloggers like this: