Reviews

Review – TMNT #92 (IDW Publishing)

TMNT #91
Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
  • Writing - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Art - 8.9/10
    8.9/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Story: Kevin Eastman, Bobby Curnow & Tom Waltz
Script: Tom Waltz
Artist: Michael Dialynas
Colorist: Ronda Pattison
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: March 20, 2019

The Foot Clan looks to change leaders, while Agent Bishop gains a powerful ally in Metalhead. The Mutanimals gear up for war and Baxter Stockman makes his bid for Mayor!

“Seeds of War” in TMNT #92

A lot of “seeds” have been planted in this current story arc to lead up to the big “City at War” and issue #100 in IDW’s TMNT series. In TMNT #92 all of these seeds begin to “bud”. In the last issue Splinter rather shockingly, very “easily”, decided to give up the leadership of the Foot Clan to Karai. It is something that came seemingly rather quickly but is given context in this issue. Metalhead and Agent Bishop also come to terms, making a deadly alliance. The Mutanimals start gearing up for war against anybody that stands in their way. Oh, and Baxter Stockman makes his bid for Mayor. There are a lot of shocking twists in TMNT #92. Ones that turn the series in whole new directions!

Writing

TMNT #92 (IDW Publishing) cover B by Kevin Eastman
TMNT #92 (IDW Publishing) cover B by Kevin Eastman

The writers on TMNT do something that I feel a lot of other comic books are missing in that they acknowledge the continuity of the story. In that, it feels like the “past” actually matters and the characters have changed along with their experiences. I know this is a little bit easier for them because, unlike DC or Marvel, they only have to deal with TMNT issues. Which at most was two other comics in the same universe. But, it is nice to feel like all that stuff that happened since the beginning has mattered and has led to this.

There is a lot going on in TMNT #92. The main story focuses on the negotiations of Splinter handing over the leadership of the Foot Clan to Karai. I won’t spoil anything, but there are some very interesting aspects of the conversation between Karai and Splinter, especially toward the end of the issue. I like that the writers are also developing smaller plots in the background like Agent Bishop and Metalhead’s alliance or the Mutanimals now, again, not really being anybody’s allies but a wild card. It does feel like we needed a little more time with April and Baxter Stockman’s bid for Mayor. I know there are only so many pages to fit stuff in, but I feel we needed just a little more with that.

Art

TMNT#92 is Michael Dialynas‘ final issue on the series for a while. I hope we get to see him back very soon. His Michelangelo macro-series one-shot was my first exposure to his art and now I am a huge fan of his. I have clamored on and on before about how I love his designs for the Turtles. The little added forearm sleeves and different wraps/pads look fantastic. He gets to draw Angel’s “Nobody” armor in this issue and it looks awesome. He gets these nice little details throughout it. I am really going to miss his cartooning on Splinter’s face. Never has an anthropomorphic rat shown such emotion. There is a wonderful scene at the end of TMNT #92 where Splinter’s eye tells the whole story.

I will also miss his dynamic action sequences. He laid out the action so well with the different angles and panel layouts. He made those scenes come to life. Luckily as always, the great Ronda Pattison is staying on colors. She always “holds the fort down” when a different artist comes on TMNT. Plus it is Dave Wachter who is coming back, and he is no stranger to IDW’s TMNT line.

Conclusion

TMNT #92 was a good issue and this previous story arc set up the huge “City at War” road to issue #100 perfectly. There are some big things happening in IDW’s TMNT Universe and things just got ramped up after this issue. Also, like I was talking about in the writing section about continuity, the TMNT: Shredder in Hell mini-series (read the reviews of issue #1 and issue #2) plays a big part in leading up to issue #100, so be sure to check that out as well. Big things are on the horizon so, definitely don’t miss out on TMNT #92!


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: