Reviews

Review – TMNT #94 (IDW Publishing)

TMNT #94
Overall
8.5/10
8.5/10
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Story: Kevin Eastman, Tom Waltz, & Bobby Curnow
Script: Tom Waltz
Artist:  Dave Wachter
Colorist: Ronda Pattison
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: May 29, 2019

The Turtles struggle to save Jennika’s life, the Mutanimals decide to go on an all-out attack, and Agent Bishop, with Metalhead’s help, starts to stir up trouble.

 

City at War Part 2 – TMNT #94

TMNT #94 finds the Turtles in a tight spot. Jennika has been stabbed by Karai in the previous issue after not joining her side. The Turtles rushed her to the hospital only to be ambushed there by Karai’s gang (see TMNT free comic book day issue). Now the Turtles must seek help elsewhere. Mainly from the Mutanimals. But Old Hob has tired of playing defense and is ready to strike back. Master Splinter tries to continue his control over the city’s gangs with the Foot, but the chaos has caused a slip in power. Now Agent Bishop and new ally Metalhead put their plan into action. The city is at war and no one is safe!

Writing

TMNT #94 (IDW Publishing) cover A by Dave Wachter
TMNT #94 (IDW Publishing) cover A by Dave Wachter

The writing team is doing a superb job of building up this huge storyline leading up to issue #100. TMNT #94 is a good “middle issue” for the “City at War” storyline. It ramps up the intensity and puts a lot of new pieces in play for future issues to build upon. It also keeps some mystery alive. We get little bits and pieces of things. But we are still in the dark on some issues, storywise.

The stakes feel pretty high as well. I mean, we are used to ongoing superhero comics and thinking things will go back to the status quo, but the IDW team has shown that doesn’t always happen for this series. Splinter has been at odds with his sons for a long time. He has led the Foot since issue #50. Things have changed and I would not be surprised if some huge things happen, and stick, on the road to issue #100.

TMNT #94 is paced well. It feels frantic, at points, with Jennika barely staying alive as the team rushes to save her. You can feel the tension building between characters as circumstances push them to their limits. Everyone feels “on edge”. There are a lot of moving pieces storywise going on throughout the issue and the writing team does a fantastic job of juggling them all.

Art

Dave Wachter continues to do some splendid work on TMNT #94. I have reviewed a lot of Wachter’s work since coming to Word of the Nerd and he continues to impress me. He draws an amazing looking Metalhead in this issue. Wachter’s style just fantastically captures the square robustness of the armor. The rectangular angles and dark detailed lines look fantastic. He gives Metalhead an intense, menacing presence. Even without words, Wachter gives that character that ominous “bad news” feeling on the pages.

There is also some delightful panel work and structure in TMNT #94. From using some nice angled or varied shaped panels to characters breaking panel borders, Wachter adds a fantastic flow and makes the action feel a little more intense throughout the issue. Ronda Pattison’s colors look amazing, as always. I love the almost “chalky” feel she gives to Wachter’s art, almost giving it a “textured” like look to it.

Conclusion

TMNT #94 “City at War Part 2” is certainly heating up this storyline. Lots of things are happening and honestly, I have no clue what will become of the Turtles after “City at War” wraps up. The mystery of what will happen next is excellent. I am also loving the backup essays as well. Instead of a letters page they are doing an oral history of the past eight years of TMNT at IDW. in TMNT #94 the creators detailed the second year and it is fantastic to read what-all they had to say.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: