Reviews

Review – TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4 (IDW Publishing)

TMNT Shredder in Hell #4 (IDW Publishing) cover B (detail) by Kevin Eastman
TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4
Overall
9.2/10
9.2/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Overall - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Mateus Santolouco 
Artist: Mateus Santolouco
Colorist: Davi Calil
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: Agust 28, 2019

Is the Shredder destined to be one with the dragon? And what happens if destiny is denied? 

 

Destiny Arrives in TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4

The penultimate issue is here in TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4 (of 5). Oroku Saki is coming face to face with the dragon. The one he is destined to be under control of and to bring about a new reign. The Shredder learns about the Pantheon of “gods” and how the world has been shaped. Will Oroku Saki bow to his destiny or will he deny the dragon? You are not going to want to miss out as shocking revelations are ahead for the TMNT Universe!

Writing

TMNT Shredder in Hell #4 (IDW Publishing) cover A by Mateus Santolouco
TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4 (IDW Publishing) cover A by Mateus Santolouco

Well, it has been three long months since the previous issue but TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4 is here. The long layoff had me a little worried storywise remembering what was going on. Luckily Santolouco does a great job of detailing the story but also having everything come full circle from the first issue. Besides a few minor things, I feel you could almost jump in on this mini-series at this issue and not really be lost that much.

Santolouco does a fantastic job bringing Oroku Saki’s plight between him and the dragon to life. How the dragon and the Pantheon have curated his “lives” and brought him to where he is now. Santolouco also does a wonderful job of basically detailing the TMNT Universe and how the Pantheon and all the kind of supernatural things fit in. It is a nice little touch to fill out this whole universe.

Santolouco has made the Shredder, or this version/incarnation of Oroku Saki, into a strong anti-hero type character. I don’t think anybody has really done that much with the Shredder, but Santolouco has made him into a character in this series that you can root for and also be invested in his decisions and life.

Art

Santolouco’s art is always amazing but in Shredder in Hell #4 he kicks it up another notch. There are some truly stunning panels and pages throughout this issue. I can’t talk about a lot of them without spoiling the issue but there are some truly mesmerizing panels and pages throughout the issue that are a feast for the eyes.

Santolouco does some magnificent action sequences as well, detailing body movements and structuring the “flow” of the images to have perceived movement and impact that is great. I also love his character detail. He gets to draw a ton of different demons and other creatures that all have delightfully gnarly individual looks to them. It is tons of fun to see his imagination run wild throughout this issue.

Davi Calil handles the coloring in Shredder in Hell #4 and I like his brighter, cleaner coloring work. It fits superbly well with Santolouco’s style and looks great on the pages. He works a lot with a brighter blue coloration that pops off the pages in lovely dramatic ways.

Conclusion

TMNT: Shredder in Hell #4 is another great issue in this series. With only one more issue to go, we will see if Santolouco can stick the landing to end the series. I am very excited to see if somehow this will connect with the upcoming TMNT #100 issue. With the Pantheon of gods and what happens in this issue, it should have some bigger effects on the TMNT Universe, so fans are definitely going to want to pick this up to see what happens and what could be coming up.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: