Reviews

Review – TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5 (IDW Publishing)

TMNT Shredder in Hell #5 (IDW Publishing) cover A (detail) by Mateus Santolouco
Overall
9.1/10
9.1/10
  • Writing - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
  • Art - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Overall - 9.1/10
    9.1/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

TMNT; Shredder in Hell #5

Writer: Mateus Santolouco
Artist: Mateus Santolouco
Letterer: Shawn Lee
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: December 4, 2019

As Oroku Saki battles Kitsune’s brother, the dragon “god”, Kitsune debates the fate of her love. In the hands of the “gods” lies the fate of the Shredder. Or can he make his own destiny?

 

To Hell and Back in TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5

TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5 wraps up Mateus Santolouco’s thunderous mini-series. Oroku Saki has been battling his way through “hell” fighting off his literal demons. He has come face to face with his destiny to be the pawn of the long-fabled dragon “god”. Kitsune, his love, has been playing a long game with Oroku Saki, but will she go through with bringing her brother, the dragon god, back to bring about the Apocalypse, or will Oroku Saki make his own destiny? The beginning and end are all here; you don’t want to miss out!

Writing

TMNT Shredder in Hell #5 (IDW Publishing) cover A by Mateus Santolouco
TMNT Shredder in Hell #5 (IDW Publishing) cover A by Mateus Santolouco

Mateus Santolouco has woven quite a tale and ending in TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5. Obviously, this was going to build up and have a big impact on the upcoming huge TMNT #100. If you have read TMNT #99 then you know the final page sets up what happens in this issue and what is to come. What Santolouco did best with this Shredder in Hell mini-series is not make it predictable. Knowing that it was going to tie in with the ongoing TMNT story, it could have gone a certain path, but Santolouco threw some surprising twists in.

Obviously I can’t/won’t spoil anything, but I really like what he did with Oroku Saki as a character. He has built him into something completely different. And, while still obviously a villain, he has slightly turned him into an anti-hero that at least you can get behind. I love the implications this has for TMNT #100, as well; TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5 makes what is coming up a lot more interesting now with its events, and I did not fully see it coming.

Art

If you have read any of my reviews of TMNT: Shredder in Hell or any of my reviews of Santolouco’s work then you know I am a huge fan of his artwork and could gush for days about it! The fabulous artwork continues to shine in TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5. All the wonderful detail, superb panel layouts, and emotion/energy on the pages that Santolouco is known for are there. 

He does some stunning armor work in this issue. Some characters get some new gear and he adds some striking detail to the new threads. It is one of those things that you can look at forever and find little details that he adds in that you missed on previous viewings. It is all very stunning to look at and just a visual treat throughout.

I haven’t been 100% sold on the coloring work in Shredder in Hell. But TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5 has officially got me there. I like the darker, muted tone of the book. It has tons of bright coloration in it, but it is cast in this “opaque” muted type tone that gives it a little odder look, but ultimately works for the issue and series.

Conclusion

I have always loved Mateus Santolouco as an artist, but he has surprised me as quite a capable writer in this mini-series. He has taken us on a few twists and turns, while making Oroku Saki into a completely new and nuanced character. I love the ending that happens in TMNT: Shredder in Hell #5. I want to spoil it and talk about it so bad! If you are not hyped for TMNT #100 (you know I am), then this will definitely have you awaiting the monumental issue.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Leave a Reply

Advertisement

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: