Reviews

Review – Turok #1 (Dynamite)

Turok #1
Turok #1
Overall
6.5/10
6.5/10
  • Writing - 6.5/10
    6.5/10
  • Art - 6.5/10
    6.5/10
  • Overall - 6.5/10
    6.5/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Summary

Writer: Ron Marz
Artist: Roberto Castro
Colorist: Salvatore Aiala
Letterer: A Different World Studios’ Troy Peteri
Maturity Rating: Teen
Publisher: Dynamite
Release: January 9, 2019

Turok and Andar discover a whole new world while on the run from the U.S. Calvary in Turok #1.

 

Dinosaur Fight 

 

Dynamite has launched another re-boot of the Turok franchise with Turok #1. The Native American Dinosaur Hunter is back in action in comic book form. In 1873, Turok attempts to rescue his brother Andar from the U.S. Calvary. This being Turok, things go from bad to worse as dinosaurs show up and soon we are transported to a strange new land.

Writing

So, I know next to nothing about Turok besides playing two N64 games in 1997 and 98 and, being that I was around 10-12 years old, I have no idea what the plot was. Well, besides “Native American guy fights dinosaurs and weird alien things.” So, after reading Turok #1 I did some Wikipedia diving to learn a little bit more. Turns out Turok started as a comic book way back in 1954! That is to say, Turok has a pretty long pop culture history that I was not aware of until now.

Turok #1 Cover C by Jeffrey Veregge
Turok #1 Cover C by Jeffrey Veregge

Turok #1, written by Ron Marz, has a pretty good start. It is pretty straightforward and sets up some exciting things to come. We are introduced to Turok and his brother and their current calamity of dealing with the U.S. Calvary in 1873 trying to relocate Native Americans. It is a good set up for this hero and it does showcase that he is a formidable warrior, but that is about it.

Still, Turok #1 is pretty exciting and action-packed. It starts off with its pedal to the metal and it does not let up until the end of the issue. The action-packed issue makes for an enticing first run, but the characters are a little hollow and it reads very fast.

I feel like Turok #1 should have been a special double-sized issue or had some extra pages or something. It felt like the story was getting somewhere right when it ended. It is not bad, but it feels like we should have had more time with Turok to get more into his character since he is the star of the show. 

Art

Roberto Castro handles the art duties in Turok #1. The issue starts off with some solid art. I like the rougher looking ink lines and the more “gritty” texture he gives the issue. It fits well with that dirty old west feeling the series is set in. Castro also draws some beautiful mountain ranges as well. There is a great one page shot of mountains and canyons that looks wonderful. I also loved the detail put into the characters’ clothing. The folding, lines, and movement are great.

There are a few things art wise that bugged me. In a few scenes, the characters riding their horses look way bigger than the horses. They almost look like miniature horses. Also when the first dinosaur shows up, it is very underwhelming. It just looks odd. There is no sense of movement to it and it just seems randomly placed in the scenes. The dinosaur also doesn’t look that good either, very bland. It is supposed to be a big moment in the story and the art just makes it fall flat.

Castro does end the issue with a wonderful two-page spread that makes up for the lackluster first dinosaur appearance. The coloring work by Salvatore Aiala is pretty solid as well. He nails the color palette of the old west desert and brings in some nice brighter colors toward the end.

Conclusion

Turok debuts with an energetic first issue, which turns into a pretty bloody good time. Now, Turok #1 is not perfect; the story feels like it needed to be a lot longer to fully hold me and the art needs a little work. But, it also has me coming back for issue #2 so that is not for nothing either. Turok #1 has a lot to offer fans of the characters and new readers alike. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

Social Media logo PatreonFollow Word of the Nerd on

     

Bringing out YOUR inner nerd!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

Check out our YouTube Channel