Reviews

Review – We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1 (BOOM! Studios)

Overall
8.4/10
8.4/10
  • Writing - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Art - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Overall - 8.4/10
    8.4/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1

Writer: Al Ewing
Artist: Simone Di Meo
Colorist: Mariasara Miotti
Letterer: AndWorld Design
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Publisher: BOOM! Studios
Release Date: September 2, 2020

Harvesting giant, dead, alien, “god” bodies is a big business and keeps humanity alive in the far future. But why are they always dead? Join the crew in the far reaches of space, in search of a live “god”.

 

We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1

Join writer Al Ewing and artist Simone Di Meo in the far reaches of space in We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1. In the far future, the human race sustains life and profits off of dead bodies. If that is not strange enough, these are not any dead bodies, these are giant, alien, space “god” bodies. Not much is known about these “gods”, but harvesting their parts is big business, legal and illegal alike. Join one man and his crew on their quest through space to find answers about who or what these beings are and to find one alive!

We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1 (BOOM! Studios) cover B by Toni Infante
We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1 (BOOM! Studios) cover B by Toni Infante

With the law hot on their tail, this renegade crew searches for answers in the depths of space. What will they find and where will their journey bring them? It all starts in We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1

Writing

Al Ewing is jumping into superstar status with the success of Immortal Hulk and writing Marvel’s big summer event Empyre. He brings us into a wild sci-fi world in We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1. This is an excellent start to a brand new series. Probably the toughest thing for a brand new, original comic book series is the first issue. There are a lot of different things to balance. In the aspect of We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1 the reader is introduced to a whole new world, ideas, mechanisms, and characters all in one issue. 

Luckily, Al Ewing is a veteran of the industry, and he brings a pretty solid introduction to the reader. He balances well introducing us to this world and characters and how things work. He lets you adapt to everything through the characters and it never feels like an overabundance of information or drowning in explanation. The characters are well done; we do not get to know much about them, but I assume that will come later on. But there is enough here to start to build an attachment.

The issue does feel like a tried-and-true formula of scrappy crew, old grudge with law enforcement, adventure into the unknown…which isn’t a bad thing: the tropes work for a reason and a lot of them are here. Ewing does do a great job of pacing the book and gets everything set up and ready to go at the end of this issue.

Art

Simone Di Meo is an artist I became familiar with from the MMPR/TMNT comic crossover. I enjoyed the angular style and wonderful character designs in that series, so I was interested to see Di Meo’s work on this original series. Di Meo delivers some tight visuals throughout We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1. The angular, tight lined style works exceptionally well for this future/space world the comic lives in. Di Meo also, once again, delivers some great character/ world design. From space crafts, space suits, to just characters’ looks, all of it is very eye-catching.

I do wish some of the more action-oriented shots were a bit more “settled” visually, in that at times it can be hard to tell what is going on. I had the same problem in MMPR/TMNT; it is not bad and I do like the angled panels and setups. Maybe just a slightly different perspective would clear things up a tad? 

I am usually not a huge fan of this more “digital”-feeling, bright-coloring type palette, but it does work and fit for the futuristic setting and world of We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1. Mariasara Miotti adds a ton of bright coloration to the issue. It works well with setting a tone and feel for this world and fits in with Di Meo’s art style. At times it can just be a bit too bright, but overall I think it works well for the issue.

Conclusion 

We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1 has a very catchy title (a little long) and has a nice sci-fi story to go along with it. The creative team creates solid ground for this series to launch from. We get a good set-up and start to a brand new world filled with tons of mystery and intrigue throughout. If you are looking for a new and interesting sci-fi story with a wild concept and some sleek visuals, then look no further than We Only Find Them When They’re Dead #1.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • 300x250
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png

WOTN on Instagram

  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!

YouTube

%d bloggers like this: