Reviews

Review – Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 (DC Comics)

Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 (DC Comics) main cover (detail) by Daniel Warren Johnson
Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3
Overall
9.4/10
9.4/10
  • Writing - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
  • Art - 9.6/10
    9.6/10
  • Overall - 9.4/10
    9.4/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3

Writer: Daniel Warren Johnson
Artist: Daniel Warren Johnson
Colorist: Mike Spicer
Letterer: Rus Wooton
Maturity Rating: Mature
Publisher: DC Black Label
Release Date: June 16, 2020

Wonder Woman has abandoned the last refuge of humanity and her homeworld. Lost without a path, she finds herself at the Fortress of Solitude, but the answers she finds brings a shocking truth.

 

“Hope is…” Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3

As bleak and hopeless as issue #2 was, Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 provides us with a little hope as Wonder Woman battled her mutated friends and family on Themyscira, and once again left the humans to fend for themselves. She heads to the one hero who always shined as a beacon of hope for humanity. But within the walls of the Fortress of Solitude, Wonder Woman’s past comes back to haunt her, as she finds out what really destroyed the world in Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3.

Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 (DC Comics) variant cover by Daniel Warren Johnson
Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 (DC Comics) variant cover by Daniel Warren Johnson

Battles are waged, heartstrings are pulled. Daniel Warren Johnson brings the plight of a Wonder Woman broken and lost into full perspective in this issue. The hero has hit a low like none other, but revelations in this issue might break Wonder Woman. Will this bring humanity’s last hope to her knees, or will she rise up once again?

Writing

Man, I don’t really know how to describe Daniel Warren Johnson‘s writing besides emotional. You know if you have read any of his writings he can just weave an emotional, gripping story. He is a guy that can make you cry in a story titled Murder Falcon about a giant, anthropomorphic metal-armed falcon fueled by the power of metal music to battle giant monsters. Johnson finds those human emotional elements and just connects them into whatever story he is writing. He finds that in this story and it shines through once again in Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3.

Obviously, I am not going to go in detail about the issue, to remain spoiler-free, but throughout these 3 issues of this 4-issue series Johnson has gotten to the core of Wonder Woman and brought her to new and interesting places, emotionally, by the end of Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3. He does a great job with all the characters, really. Wonder Woman, the mutated Cheetah, the last refuge of humans, the mutated Themyscirains: Johnson does a fantastic job of capturing all of their perspectives in this world and bringing that to the reader and story.

With this larger size (page count and actual size) book Johnson also balances the story well. Switching from action to more dramatics, he paces the flow of the story well. He lets everything build up to a truly wonderful final page that will have you clamoring for the 4th and final issue of this series.

Art

If you have read my reviews for Extremity or Murder Falcon you know Daniel Warren Johnson is one of my favorite comic book artists. I don’t think anyone does action quite like him. The sense of speed, power, emotion, just the raw intensity he brings in his art is phenomenal. There is just a tremendous sense of movement and energy in his pages. Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 displays all of that splendidly. This issue probably has one of the best fight scenes I have seen in a long time.

Johnson doesn’t just do fight scenes well. He is an all-around great visual storyteller with his work. He captures the emotions of characters superbly well throughout the pages. It helps the story so much when you can see what a character is feeling. Plus he sets scenes, shots, and panels up to set the story or mood of what is happening. Just great structure and set-up storytelling-wise. He also plays with the larger format so well. The bigger pages are filled with stunning art.

Mike Spicer, on colors, is wonderful as well. His more dark, dreary color tone for this series brings this apocalyptic world to life. His coloring work immediately sets the theme of the story from the beginning. Somebody also tell me how Rus Wooton has not won an Eisner for lettering! Dude is seriously one of the best in the game and needs to be appreciated more!

Conclusion

Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3 is an excellent penultimate issue. It will leave you desperately wanting issue #4. It also has the most “metal” ending ever. I had to read it twice. Anything that happened or will happen in DC’s Metal event will not be as “metal” as what Johnson does a the end of Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3. I know I am being very vague, but seriously, when you get to the end of the issue, you will read it twice, as well.

It is also wild that Johnson can do what he did at the end of the issue and also have your heart break a few scenes before that. He, again, knows how to balance things so well. If you have been reading this series you obviously don’t need me to convince you to buy Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #3. If you haven’t, you need to go buy this series now.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: