Reviews

Review – X-Men: Marvels Snapshots (Marvel Comics)

X-Men: Marvels Snapshots (Marvel Comics) main cover (detail) by Alex Ross
  • Writing - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Art - 8.6/10
    8.6/10
  • Overall - 8.6/10
    8.6/10

X-Men: Marvels Snapshots

Writer: Jay Edidin
Artist: Tom Reilly
Colorist: Chris O’Halloran
Letterer: Tom Orzechowski
Maturity Rating: Teen+
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Release Date: September 16, 2020

Marvels Snapshots takes a closer look at the upbringing of the one and only Scott Summers. The leader of the X-Men gets a little clearer look into his childhood and what shaped him.

Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

 

“Diamond Eyes” X-Men: Marvel Snapshots

Marvels Snapshots lets talented creators take a more human/introspective look into some of our favorite heroes. Now the Captain America “Snapshot” I reviewed was not so much a Captain America tale as it was a story with Cap in it. X-Men: Marvels Snapshots is not exactly an X-Men tale, but a story of one X-Man. Scott Summers, aka Cyclops, is the focus. This is a story of how he came to be who he is. How did Scott Summers develop the mindset to become the leader of the X-Men? It was forged a long time before his powers ever existed.

Writing

X-Men: Marvels Snapshots (Marvel Comics) variant cover by Tom Reilly
X-Men: Marvels Snapshots (Marvel Comics) variant cover by Tom Reilly

Jay Edidin writes this look into Cyclops’ life for X-Men: Marvels Snapshots. Edidin takes us to a Scott Summers that is not a leader, not a mutant, just a kid. We get to see how Scott grew up and what shaped him. I liked Edidin’s playing the Marvel Universe history and having the coming of the Fantastic Four shape a young Cyclops. It was an interesting little spin I was not expecting. That twist added some needed spice into the mix.

Edidin plays with Scott’s fascination with Reed Richards well, using it to help morph him into the leader and hero we know today. Edidin does a great job of keeping the story focused on Scott and what built his mindset. He doesn’t get sidetracked with other stories. Also, not focusing on Scott’s mutant abilities helped the story as well. We get a look into his head and what helped him developed the mindset of the leader he is. Not a sole focus on being a mutant. That is probably my favorite thing about this issue: the focus on his headspace and what made him think the way he does.

Edidin also does a good job of pacing the story and using the extra size of X-Men: Marvels Snapshots to his advantage. He lets the story breathe a little and gets us into the headspace of the young and old Scott Summers alike. Edidin does a great job of adding some “flavor” to Scott Summers. The issue made me like his character more.

Art

Tom Reilly on art, with Chris O’Halloran on colors, delivers some delightful sequential visual storytelling on the pages of X-Men: Marvels Snapshots. Reilly has a wonderful cartooning style that reminds me of David Aja and Chris Samnee, that fits right in with the more “retro” feel of the story. Reilly does fantastic character work and brings along the story superbly well with his visuals on the pages.

O’Halloran has some fun coloring work as well. A dark blue haze covers most of the issue. It kind of gives X-Men: Marvels Snapshots a melancholic type feel until, a few pages in, the Fantastic Four show up and we are bomb-blasted with some gorgeous bright coloration. Reilly and O’Halloran do this a few times throughout the issue and it is fantastic.

Plus, I mean, I am a ’90s kid, and when I see Cyclops dressed in his ’90s costume with the rad bomber jacket, I am never going to be disappointed. All the characters have wonderful designs in the issue. The art team does a great job of catching that “sliding” Marvel timeline. The bulk of the issue has that ’60s “Marvels Age” feel to it as Scott traverses childhood. Then the modern-day adult Scott has a great modern/’90s feel to it.

Conclusion

X-Men: Marvels Snapshots is a great look into the character of Cyclops. If you do not know much about Scott Summers it is a nice look into his character and how he came to be. It also skips all the crazy, confusing X-Men continuity, which is lovely. I like the use of Marvel lore and legend to help form the character. It was an all-around different look into a character that is often overlooked or maybe misrepresented, giving a clear look into who Scott Summers is.


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • 300x250

WOTN on Instagram

  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners
%d bloggers like this: