Reviews

Review – Young Justice #13 (DC Comics)

Overall
8.7/10
8.7/10
  • Writing - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Art - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Overall - 8.7/10
    8.7/10
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Young Justice #13

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis & David F. Walker
Artist: David Avon Oeming (p. 1-3, 8, 15, 17-18), Mike Grell (p. 4-7, 16), John Timms (p. 9-14, 19-22)
Colorist: Gabe Eltaeb 
Letterer: Wes Abbott
Publisher: DC Comics
Maturity Rating: Teen +
Release Date: February 5, 2020

Conner Kent lost once again on a new world, the Young Justice team scrambles to save him. What secrets does the land of Skartaris hold and who is the Warlord?

 

“The Lost World” Young Justice #13

 

It has been a hot minute since I have read Young Justice but with a new story arc starting in Young Justice #13 it seemed like a good fresh start to me. Also with David F. Walker jumping on as co-writer and a host of new artists my interest has been peaked! It seems Conner Kent Superboy has been trapped in yet another world “Skartaris” where he has met relic DC hero “Warlord”. In this world that has been forgotten a “land before time” Conner must struggle to survive while his friends try to save him!

Writing

Young Justice #13( DC Comics)Cover art by John Timms
Young Justice #13( DC Comics)Cover art by John Timms

I have been critical of Young Justice’s writing in the past and it has been since issue #8 that I have given it another chance. So, I have really no clue what has been happening since then. It seems that Young Justice #13 was a good jumping back on board point it is the start of a new story arc “Warlords Part 1”. We have some new members in the Young Justice Department and other “Wonder Comics” imprint staples Naomi, The Wonder Twins and Dial H for Hero. So that is all exciting and adds a new interesting depth to the roster.

It seems to the book has found its footing with Young Justice #13 and David F. Walker coming on helps. Bendis and Walker work a lot together and it seems Walker has added a bit of “calmness” to the story and plot. The series always felt a little frantic and disjointed. Bendis always did well on the dialogue (though a bit much at times), it seems to me at least that Walker slows everything down a bit for the better.

I really enjoyed the switching back and forth of the story in Young Justice #13. We get a bit of Conner Kent once stranded on a new world and struggling to cope with once again being lost. While also flashing back to his teammates trying to figure out what happened to him. Superboy’s interactions with Warlord are the highlight of the issue. The words feel true and have a lot of heart to them.

Art

So, we have three different artists on Young Justice #13. Usually, three artists on a single issue spell trouble but it works tremendously well for me in this issue. Michael Avon Oeming handles the visuals as Superboy explores Skartaris with Warlord. It is a delightful cartoony, animated angular style that I love. It is a little minimalist and gives off wonderful Mike Mignola/Andrew MacLean vibe. Meanwhile, Mike Grell gives us a wonderful “old-school” styling when Warlord recounts his early days on Skartaris. Grell captures the older, sword and sorcerer, fantasy comic vibe so well with his art. From the thick, scratchy ink lines to the wonderful overall design.

Mainstay John Timms handles the rest of the issue back on the main world as the other characters try to save Superboy. I have also been critical of Timm’s art as well in the past, but I love its contrast with the other artist in Young Justice #13. His more modern style fits in well as we jump back and forth from the story. He has a lovely eye for character detail as well, bringing out some great little details in each of the team.

The workhorse of the issue is colorist Gabe Eltaeb. Switching between such different styles all in one issue can’t be easy and Ealtaeb brings out the best in all of them. Giving Oeming’s work a little darker tone, while making Timm’s work shine with a bright cheeriness. Then giving Grell’s that washed out duller tone of comics of the past is just perfectly done.

Conclusion

I am officially back on the Young Justice bandwagon with issue #13. This was a really fun read and a start to a new and interesting story arc. The story and plot felt a little more “centered” and little slower paced which helped out a lot. While I can see some people having some hangups on the art switching so much. It worked perfectly for me and added some nice visual flair to the issue. If you haven’t been reading Young Justice or fell off for a bit like me then this is a pretty good jumping-on point for the series. 


To find a comic shop near you, visit www.comicshoplocator.com or call 1-888-comicbook

Check out other comic book news, previews and reviews here!

We are looking for new writers! If you are interested in joining the Word of the Nerd team, click here to fill out an application

Bringing out the inner nerd in everyone!

About the author

Brent Jackson

Brent is happily married and an avid comic book consumer who loves nothing more than the smell of comics in the morning and diving through a long box of back issues. By day he is a nutritionist and has also been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for over 10 years. He is probably not the coolest person you have ever met. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram @brentjackson30

  • 300x250
  • New CBC bonus gifts-2
  • NoD_Black_Tall.png-e1582139137446.png
  • Free Domestic Shipping Over $80 120x600
  • Shop Custom Removable Vinyls from Fathead! Turn your photos into professional prints, decals, & murals - Click Here!
  • http://www.entertainmentearth.com/pjdoorway.asp?source=pjn&subid={subid}&url=aff-home.asp
  • Metallica The Master Collection Banners

Check out our YouTube Channel

%d bloggers like this: